dsr125LP : Coïtus Int | Sex For The Wealthy

Coïtus Int

Sex For The Wealthy




A1 Don’t Mess With Bill

A2 Under My Skin

A3 The Habit Stayed

A4 The Cold Fish

B1 It’s Springtime, Baby

B2 In Jutland

B3 You Will Not Swear In This House

Coïtus Int hailed from Utrecht, the Netherlands, starting out as a typical schoolboy punk rock-band in the late 70s. They made their vinyl debut with a  7’’ (“Dead Excitement EP”) released on the local Rock Against label in 1980. At that time many more punk bands appeared on the Utrecht scene, and Coïtus Int. quickly changed their style to a slower, more radical and just as heavy sound, with a barracuda bass style what would be part of their trademark sound, all influenced by groups as Joy Division, Southern Death Cult, Gang of Four, The Stranglers (for the bass sound) and Pere Ubu (for the vocals). In the years to come three albums were released, all on their own independent and nameless label; all recorded with different drummers:

‘Coitus Int’ (1981)
‘Sex For The Wealthy’ (1984)
‘Rules For Making Love And Babies’ (1991)

‘Sex For The Wealthy’ is now reissued for the first time on vinyl 30 years after its original release.


For more information on purchasing this release digitally, read more here.